CHTP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHTP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The CHTP is delivered through HFTP Academy on Canvas with automated 24/7 proctoring, so there is no fixed seasonal testing window to chase.
  • Your application must be approved first, and the approval window runs one year.
  • The bundle gives 365 days of access, two attempts per section, and unlimited practice-quiz attempts.
  • Three separately assessed sections each require 70%, so schedule each section deliberately rather than as one block.

Why the CHTP Has No Fixed Test Calendar

Candidates searching for "CHTP exam dates 2026" often expect a published list of quarterly testing windows, like those used by many IT or finance credentials. The Certified Hospitality Technology Professional credential, offered by Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP), does not work that way. Delivery runs through HFTP Academy, built on the Canvas learning platform, with Proctorio providing automated proctoring that is available around the clock.

That changes what "exam date" means. Instead of waiting for a seat at a testing center on a date set by the certifying body, you work inside a personal timeline: you are approved, you receive access, and you schedule your sections within the access period. The dates that govern your experience are therefore the ones attached to your own enrollment, not a shared national calendar.

Read This Before Searching for a Date: Because CHTP delivery is online and proctored automatically, the practical question is not "when is the next testing window?" but "how long is my access period, and how do I allocate it?" The rest of this guide is built around that second question.

If you are still deciding whether this credential fits your career, the overview at What Is CHTP Certification? explains what the credential covers, and CHTP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify walks through who can apply.

How HFTP Academy Delivery Works

Understanding the delivery model explains almost every scheduling constraint you will encounter. The CHTP is administered through HFTP Academy, a Canvas-based environment, and the assessments are proctored by Proctorio rather than by a human proctor in a physical room.

  • Platform: HFTP Academy on Canvas hosts your course content, practice quizzes, and section assessments.
  • Proctoring: Proctorio provides automated proctoring, available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
  • Access period: The current bundle provides 365 days of access once you are enrolled.
  • Attempts: The bundle includes two attempts per section and unlimited practice-quiz attempts.

Note that the delivery arrangement described here reflects 2025 changes, which are distinct from the older January 2015 exam format that some legacy study materials still reference. If you find a study resource describing a different structure, treat it as historical until you confirm otherwise with HFTP.

The Dates That Actually Matter

Rather than a single exam date, a CHTP candidate manages several overlapping clocks. Knowing which clock governs which decision keeps you from losing paid access to poor planning.

ClockLengthWhat It Controls
Approval windowOne yearHow long your approved application remains usable
Bundle access365 daysTime to complete all three sections and use practice quizzes
Section attemptsTwo per sectionHow many tries you get before additional purchase is likely needed
Practice quizzesUnlimited attemptsRehearsal with no attempt penalty
Certification maintenanceTwo-year renewal cycleWhen you must document renewal points after earning the credential

The interplay between the approval window and the access period is the part candidates most often misread. Your approval gives you permission to proceed; your bundle access gives you the time and tools to do it. Confirm in writing with HFTP exactly when each clock starts, because the starting event (application approval versus purchase versus first login) determines your real deadline.

Approval Comes Before Scheduling

You cannot simply buy a bundle and sit a section on a convenient weekend. The CHTP requires application approval, and that approval step is the true gate on your timeline.

Historically, the 2016 eligibility structure used a 100-point system spread across education, experience, and membership, plus two professional recommendations, employer verification, and evidence of education. Whether that exact matrix still applies today needs confirmation, so treat those details as a historical reference rather than a current checklist. What is consistent is the principle: you assemble documentation, submit an application, and wait for a decision before your exam period begins.

Build in Approval Lead Time: Employer verification and professional recommendations depend on other people responding. If you plan to certify before a promotion cycle, a performance review, or a job search, start the application early enough that a slow reference does not consume your preparation time.

For a closer look at documentation and eligibility, see CHTP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. Because membership has historically carried points in the eligibility scheme, check your HFTP membership status early as well.

Three Sections, Two Attempts Each

The CHTP is assessed in three separate sections, and you need 70% in each. This structure is the single most important scheduling fact, because it means you are not preparing for one exam but for three distinct assessments that can be taken at different times.

The sections align with the three content areas of the credential:

Hospitality Applications

The systems that run guest-facing and back-of-house operations in lodging and food service environments.

  • Property management, reservations, and distribution concepts
  • Point-of-sale and food and beverage systems
  • Sales, catering, and revenue-related software
  • Guest-facing technology and integration with operations

Technology Management

How technology is planned, procured, governed, and protected inside a hospitality organization.

  • Vendor selection, contracts, and project management
  • Information security and payment-card data protection
  • Budgeting, lifecycle planning, and policy
  • Business continuity and risk

Core Technology

The infrastructure and foundational concepts underneath every hospitality application.

  • Networking and wireless fundamentals
  • Servers, storage, and cloud concepts
  • Hardware, peripherals, and connectivity
  • Telecommunications and guest connectivity

Each section has two attempts under the current bundle. That is a meaningful safety net, but it is not a license to treat the first attempt as a practice run. A failed attempt consumes one of only two tries for that section, so use the unlimited practice quizzes to rehearse first. The official weighting of these domains for the current blueprint year is unverified, so do not assume the largest domain; see CHTP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas for how to approach the content areas without relying on outdated percentages.

To understand how the 70% threshold works in practice, read CHTP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Working Backward From Your Target Date

Because you control your own scheduling inside the access period, the most reliable method is to pick the date you want to be certified and work backward. Common drivers for a target date include an annual review, a conference, a new role, or a renewal of an existing credential cycle.

  1. Fix your certification deadline. Decide the latest date you need the credential in hand.
  2. Subtract a buffer for a retake. Since each section allows two attempts, leave room in your window for a second attempt on at least one section.
  3. Subtract assessment time. Confirm the current duration and format of each section with HFTP, since exact question counts and durations are unverified.
  4. Subtract study time per section. Allocate more weeks to the area where your day-to-day work gives you the least exposure.
  5. Subtract approval lead time. Your application must clear before access begins, so this is the earliest point on your calendar.

Key Takeaway

Do not let your 365-day access period run its full length by default. Set an internal deadline roughly two months before access expires so that a retake, a technical problem, or a busy season at work cannot strand you without time.

Sequencing the Domains Across Your Access Year

Since the three sections are assessed separately, you can sequence them to match your background. A hotel revenue manager and a network administrator will not start in the same place. The following timeline is one example, framed for a candidate whose experience is strongest in operations and weakest in infrastructure.

Weeks 1-3

Core Technology Foundations

  • Start with the domain furthest from your daily work, since it needs the longest runway
  • Build vocabulary for networking, servers, and wireless before touching practice quizzes
  • Run unlimited practice quizzes to find weak spots without spending an attempt
Weeks 4-6

Technology Management

  • Focus on security, vendor management, and policy reasoning
  • Practice scenario judgment, such as which control or contract term fits a given situation
  • Attempt the first section assessment once practice scores are consistently strong
Weeks 7-9

Hospitality Applications

  • Connect system types to the operational workflows they support
  • Review integrations between PMS, POS, and distribution systems
  • Take the next assessment, then reserve remaining attempts for any section that came up short

This sequencing is a planning illustration, not an official recommendation, and it does not imply any official domain weighting. For a full preparation approach, see CHTP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for a realistic sense of the challenge, How Hard Is the CHTP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. You can also rehearse with questions on the main practice test site before spending any of your two attempts per section.

Proctoring Logistics for Exam Day

Automated proctoring removes the travel and appointment constraints of a testing center, but it introduces its own technical requirements. Proctorio-style systems generally rely on your own computer, webcam, microphone, and a stable connection, and they typically record the session for review.

  • Test your setup early. Do a system check well before your assessment, not on the day of.
  • Plan a quiet, controlled space. Automated proctoring is sensitive to interruptions, background noise, and environment changes.
  • Choose a time you can protect. Since proctoring is available 24/7, pick a slot when you are alert and unlikely to be pulled away, rather than squeezing it between meetings.
  • Confirm the rules in advance. Whether a section is open-book, permits a calculator, or is adaptive is unverified for the current format, so read HFTP's instructions rather than assuming.
Don't Spend an Attempt on a Technical Surprise: With only two attempts per section, a webcam failure or an unexpected rule you did not read can cost you a try. Treat the tech check and the instructions as part of your preparation, not an afterthought.

The Two-Year Renewal Calendar

Earning the credential starts another clock. The CHTP is renewed on a two-year cycle, and your renewal timeline is as important as your exam timeline if you intend to keep the credential active.

Historically, renewal required 60 maintenance points. Of those, at least 50 had to be education points, including 15 in hospitality technology and four in ethics, and up to ten points could come from membership. The current implementation and renewal fee is unverified, and the exact requirements may have changed, so check HFTP's current policy rather than relying on the historical figures.

Renewal ElementHistorical RequirementStatus
Cycle lengthTwo yearsConsistent with current cycle
Total maintenance points60Confirm current figure
Education pointsAt least 50Confirm current figure
Hospitality-technology points15Confirm current figure
Ethics pointsFourConfirm current figure
Membership pointsUp to tenConfirm current figure
Renewal feeNot statedUnverified

A practical habit: log qualifying education activities as you complete them rather than reconstructing them in month 23. For the bigger picture on what the credential delivers over time, see Is the CHTP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CHTP Jobs.

What to Verify Before You Pay

Several details that candidates want when planning dates are not confirmed in the public record, and it is better to flag them than to guess. Before you purchase, confirm the following directly with HFTP:

  • Current price. The current indexed bundle price is US$1,075. Whether a member checkout price applies today is unverified; a US$675 member and US$1,075 nonmember schedule dates from January 2020 and should be treated as historical. See CHTP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown for context.
  • Exam format. The exact question count, scored versus unscored split, item format, and duration for each section are unverified.
  • Exam rules. Open-book, calculator, and adaptive-testing policies are unverified.
  • Blueprint year. The current weighted blueprint year is unverified, and the January 2015 format and the 2025 delivery changes are separate things.
  • When your clocks start. Confirm whether the approval window and the 365-day access period begin at approval, purchase, or first login.

Pass rate is also not publicly disclosed, so be cautious of any source quoting a precise figure; CHTP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains what can and cannot be said. If you are weighing the credential against pay expectations, CHTP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis offers a qualitative view.

Key Takeaway

Treat every number you cannot trace to HFTP as provisional. A short email or call to confirm price, format, and start dates costs nothing and protects a four-figure investment and a year of access.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CHTP exam dates in 2026?

The CHTP is delivered through HFTP Academy on Canvas with automated 24/7 Proctorio proctoring, so it does not follow a fixed seasonal testing calendar. Your effective dates are set by your application approval and your 365-day bundle access, so confirm start dates with HFTP.

How long do I have to complete the CHTP after enrolling?

The bundle provides 365 days of access, and the approval window runs one year. Confirm with HFTP whether each period begins at approval, purchase, or first login, since that determines your actual deadline.

How many times can I attempt each section?

The bundle includes two attempts per section and unlimited practice-quiz attempts. Each of the three sections requires 70%, so use practice quizzes heavily before spending a real attempt.

Do I need approval before I can schedule a section?

Yes. The CHTP requires application approval. Historically this involved a points-based eligibility system, two professional recommendations, employer verification, and education evidence, though the current matrix needs confirmation. Start early so references do not delay you.

When do I have to renew after passing?

Renewal is on a two-year cycle. Historically, renewal required 60 maintenance points, including at least 50 education points with 15 in hospitality technology and four in ethics. Verify current requirements and fees with HFTP, and review CHTP Certification for a broader overview.

Ready to pass your CHTP exam?

Put this into practice with free CHTP questions across every exam domain.