- What "Passing" Actually Means for the CHTP
- The Three Sections You Must Clear
- Why Domain Weights Don't Change the Threshold
- What Is Not Publicly Confirmed
- Attempts, Access Windows, and Proctoring
- Application Approval Comes Before Scoring
- Planning Around a Per-Section Threshold
- After You Pass: Renewal and Maintenance
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Hospitality Technology Professional (CHTP) requires 70% in each of its three separately assessed sections.
- A strong score in one section cannot rescue a weak score in another.
- The HFTP exam bundle includes two attempts per section and 365 days of access.
- The CHTP pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so treat any quoted figure with suspicion.
What "Passing" Actually Means for the CHTP
If you are searching for the Certified Hospitality Technology Professional passing score, the headline answer is simple: 70% is required in each section. The certification is administered by Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP), and the exam is delivered through HFTP Academy on the Canvas platform with Proctorio handling remote proctoring.
That single sentence hides a design choice that matters more than the number itself. The CHTP does not average your performance across the whole exam into one composite score. It is three separately assessed sections, and the 70% bar applies to each one independently. Candidates who prepare as though they only need a 70% overall can be caught off guard.
If you want context on how demanding this is in practice, see our breakdown in How Hard Is the CHTP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026, and for what is and is not known about outcomes, read CHTP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
The Three Sections You Must Clear
The CHTP content is organized into three areas, each assessed on its own. Because each carries its own 70% threshold, you need to know what lives in each one and prepare accordingly.
Domain 1: Hospitality Applications
This area covers the software that runs day-to-day hotel and restaurant operations. Candidates should be able to reason about how front-of-house and back-of-house systems support guest-facing and revenue-driving processes.
- Property management and point-of-sale systems and how they exchange data
- Reservations, distribution, and revenue-related applications
- How operational applications connect to accounting and reporting
Domain 2: Technology Management
This area is about governing technology as a business function rather than operating it. Expect scenario thinking around planning, vendors, risk, and accountability.
- Technology planning, budgeting, and vendor and contract oversight
- Security, data protection, and risk responsibilities
- Policies, ethics, and how technology decisions are justified to owners and executives
Domain 3: Core Technology
This area covers the infrastructure underneath the applications. It is where networking, hardware, and connectivity fundamentals live.
- Networks, wireless, and connectivity in a hospitality property
- Servers, devices, and supporting infrastructure
- Reliability, support, and how infrastructure failures affect guest service
For a deeper treatment of each, our CHTP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas walks through the topics candidates should be able to explain.
Why Domain Weights Don't Change the Threshold
Many certification exams publish percentage weights for each domain, and candidates reasonably assume the biggest domain deserves the most study time. With the CHTP, be careful here. The current weighted blueprint year is unverified, and historical question allocations from earlier formats (including the January 2015 format) should not be converted into present-day official weights. Likewise, the 2025 delivery changes are a separate matter from the content format.
The practical consequence is this: because every section needs 70% on its own, the largest domain is not automatically your highest priority. A smaller section that you neglect is still a gate you must clear. The right way to allocate effort is by your own weakest section, not by a guess at what the blueprint emphasizes.
What Is Not Publicly Confirmed
Good preparation starts with an honest inventory of what is known and what is not. For the CHTP, several details that candidates often ask about are not confirmed in a form we can responsibly state.
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| Passing threshold | 70% required in each of three sections |
| Number of sections | Three, separately assessed |
| Overall pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Exact current question count | Unverified |
| Scored vs. unscored question split | Unverified |
| Item format details | Unverified |
| Exam duration | Unverified |
| Open-book, calculator, or adaptive rules | Unverified |
| Current weighted blueprint year | Unverified |
Why does this matter for your score? Because the passing score is only meaningful relative to how the exam is built. Without a confirmed question count or scored/unscored split, you cannot reliably translate 70% into a specific number of questions you can afford to miss. Anyone offering you an exact "you can miss X questions" figure is either guessing or borrowing it from a different credential.
Key Takeaway
Plan for a comfortable margin above 70% in every section rather than aiming at the line. Since the item count and scoring mechanics are not confirmed, a thin margin leaves you exposed to a result you cannot predict.
Attempts, Access Windows, and Proctoring
The structure of the current bundle directly affects how you should think about the passing score, because it determines how many chances you get to hit 70% in each section.
- Two attempts per section. Your bundle includes two attempts for each of the three sections, so a miss in one section does not end your candidacy.
- 365 days of access. You have a year of access to the bundle, which gives you room to pace yourself section by section.
- Unlimited practice quizzes. Practice-quiz attempts are not capped, which is useful for gauging readiness before you spend a real attempt.
- Automated proctoring. Proctorio-based proctoring is available 24/7, so you are not tied to a fixed testing center appointment.
The current indexed bundle price is US$1,075. The current member checkout price is unverified; the figures of US$675 for members and US$1,075 for nonmembers come from a historical January 2020 schedule and should not be assumed to be current. For a full look at fees, see CHTP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Because retakes within the bundle are limited to two attempts per section, treat your first attempt on each section as a genuine try, not a rehearsal. Use the unlimited practice quizzes for rehearsal instead, and keep your second attempt as a safety net rather than a plan. For scheduling windows, see CHTP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Application Approval Comes Before Scoring
You cannot simply buy the bundle and start earning a passing score. Application approval is required, and the approval window is one year. That means your eligibility has to be accepted before the exam clock matters.
Historically (the 2016 eligibility framework), the process used a 100-point system spanning education, experience, and membership, along with two professional recommendations, employer verification, and evidence of education. The current points matrix needs confirmation, so verify it directly with HFTP rather than relying on the older structure. Our guide to CHTP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify covers the application side in detail.
Planning Around a Per-Section Threshold
Since each section demands 70% independently, your preparation should be built around closing your weakest gap first. This is the one place a short, CHTP-specific schedule helps. The sequence below assumes you have already been approved and are working within your 365-day access.
Diagnose with practice quizzes
- Take unlimited practice quizzes across all three areas to find which section sits furthest below 70%
- Record which topics (applications integration, governance, networking) cause the misses
Start with Core Technology if networking is new to you
- Infrastructure concepts underpin how applications behave, so weaker candidates benefit from fixing this first
- Revisit Hospitality Applications afterward to see how systems depend on that foundation
Layer in Technology Management
- Practice scenario reasoning on vendors, security responsibility, and ethics
- Connect governance decisions back to the applications and infrastructure you studied
Confirm margin, then sit each section
- Only use a real attempt when practice results sit comfortably above 70%
- Keep your second attempt in reserve
For a fuller approach to building your plan, see CHTP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and once you have studied the material, a quick refresher is available in the CHTP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, try the CHTP practice tests to see where you stand against the 70% bar.
After You Pass: Renewal and Maintenance
Clearing 70% in all three sections earns the credential, but it is not permanent. The certification renews on a two-year cycle. Historically, renewal required 60 maintenance points, including at least 50 education points, of which 15 had to be in hospitality technology and four in ethics, with up to ten points available from membership. The current implementation and renewal fee are unverified, so confirm both with HFTP before you plan.
This ongoing requirement is part of why the credential holds value with employers: it signals current knowledge rather than a one-time test result. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, see Is the CHTP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CHTP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis. Those who are curious about career paths can also explore CHTP Jobs.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Certified Hospitality Technology Professional exam requires 70% in each of its three separately assessed sections. The threshold applies to each section on its own rather than to a single combined total.
No. Because each section is assessed separately with its own 70% requirement, strong performance in one section does not offset falling short in another. You need to reach the threshold in all three.
The current bundle includes two attempts per section, along with 365 days of access and unlimited practice-quiz attempts. Confirm the latest terms in your HFTP Academy account before purchasing.
The pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Be skeptical of any specific percentage you see quoted online, since it cannot be tied to an official source. Our pass rate article explains what is and is not known.
Yes. Application approval is required before you can sit the exam, and the approval window is one year. Review the eligibility requirements and confirm the current points matrix with HFTP.